Welcome to GalacticReads!

Thank you for stopping by my blog! My name is Abby; I’m an 18-year-old girl living in the United States. I’ve been in love with reading for as long as I can remember, and I’ve made this blog to share some of my thoughts on what I’m reading. I’ll try to keep it updated pretty frequently, but I have a busy freshman year of college coming up.

On this blog you’ll see a pretty typical mix of posts. Every month I’ll try to do a wrap-up of what I read, I plan on writing reviews for most things I read, and I’ll post as many recommendations or miscellaneous rants as I can think of.

As for what type of books you can look out for, expect a pretty big mixture of genres and opinions. I read about 60/40 YA to adult fiction, with a bit of nonfiction sprinkled throughout. My favorite authors are Victoria Schwab and Patrick Ness, and some of my favorite books (besides their works) are Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Catch-22, Fahrenheit 451, The Raven Cycle, The Enchanted, Six of Crows duology, The Diviners, Homegoing, The Name of the Wind, The Hate U Give, The Fifth Season, and Radio Silence. I tend to gravitate more toward fantasy and science fiction, and can’t seem to get into contemporary romance as a genre. However, I like to think that I have a pretty open mind and am willing to try anything once.

I think that diversity in books we read and in the authors we support is critical. I’ll acknowledge right off the bat that I’m cis and white, so I will always defer to those who know more than me about those particular issues. I believe that ignorance is one of the most dangerous things about the human experience, so I encourage anyone to let me know if I ever say anything that could be considered offensive or harmful.

I think that’s about it for this introduction. Let me know any questions, talk to me on Twitter, or link me to your favorite blogs so I can get some people to be inspired by!

Leave a Reply

