Biannual Bibliothon + Booktubeathon TBR

I’m so excited to participate in my first ever readathon(s)! Even though both of these are taking place in the same week I’ve wanted to do both for a while so I decided I would just combine them and try to do both. I don’t know how successful I’ll be, since I’m working quite a bit next week, but I’m ready to read whenever I have spare time.

IMG_4069

Luckily, I’m in a big reading mood because the most recent books I’ve read (The Obelisk Gate by N.K. Jemisin and The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee) have both been 5-star reads, and my biggest challenge so far was to not start reading my TBR books too early!

I’ve been able to pick out 7 books that I’m excited to read that fit into all the challenges for both events, so here they are! I based the books I checked out from my library on the Biannual Bibliothon challenges, since they’re more structured, and tweaked them to fit into the Booktubeathon challenges.

Challenge 1: Group Book Challenge

fitmFlame in the Mist by Renee Adieh

To be honest, I’ve never been that interested in any of Renee Adieh’s books. I think it’s because they always get mixed reviews, with people whose reviews I trust a lot usually rating them relatively low. However, I am excited to give Flame in the Mist a shot. I was really surprised that this book was in at my library, since it’s really hyped as well as being the group book.

For Booktubeathon, I’ll be using this book for a character who is different from me, since the main character is the daughter of an emperor and that’s definitely unlike my life.

Challenge 2: Read from the host’s favorite genre

wtmwoWhen the Moon was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

For this challenge I’ll be reading from Kassie’s favorite genre, Magical Realism. I love magical realism, but sometimes I’m disappointed by books labeled magical realism that actually aren’t. However, I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book and about McLemore as an author. I don’t know much about this book, except for that it follows a character who has roses that grow out of his wrists? I’m excited to find out what this one is about!

I’ll also be using this book to satisfy the Booktubeathon challenge of a book I bought because of the cover. I don’t buy books and I had other reasons for wanting to read this book, but I have always been drawn to it, partially because of the cover.

Challenge 3: Read a book that has been or still is banned

omamOf Mice & Men by John Steinbeck

This is a really short classic that I’ve been wanting to read for a while. I think most people read this in high school, but I never did, and it frequently makes an appearance on lists of books people read in school that they actually enjoyed. I don’t really know anything about this book, other than it has 2 main characters who are best friends and go on some sort of journey.

This will most likely be the book that I finish completely outside for Booktubeathon. It’s really hot where I live and probably not safe to be outside in temperatures over 100 degrees for a long span of time, but this book is only about 100 pages long so I won’t die of heatstroke.

Challenge 4: Throwback challenge: A book you keep putting off

ffyFar From You by Tess Sharpe

I feel like everyone has read and loved this book, and it’s been on my TBR forever. I’ve been passing over this book for months at my library- it’s always right there on the shelf, and every time I go I pick it up, think about it for a while, then put it back. I chose this challenge because I think I’ll end up enjoying this book, and have no excuse for not reading it yet because it sounds really good.

I don’t have a specific Booktubeathon challenge associated with this book; I’ll just count it for the 7 or I might read it in a day.

Challenge 5: Book to movie adaptation

cdChallenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

Fair warning: I’m cheating on this challenge. I’m not a fan of adaptations, and there aren’t any that I want to read or watch that I haven’t seen already (and I’m not really in the mood for a reread). However, I’ve been wanting to read this book ever since I saw Mel mention it in her video about mental health books. So what I think I’m going to do is to read this book, then watch a documentary about the ocean. It’s basically the same thing.

I don’t have a specific Booktubeathon challenge associated with this book either; I’ll just count it for the 7 or I might read it in a day.

Challenge 6: Read a book you’ve seen somewhere other than booktube

nov9November 9 by Colleen Hoover

This one’s also cheating a bit, because basically everyone on booktube knows Colleen Hoover. However, November 9 was the first book I’ve ever heard of by her, and it was from one of my friends who read it and recommended it to me. I’m not sure if I’ll like this book, since I don’t like romance novels, I’ve never read new adult, and people whose reviews I trust a lot have written extensively about the problems in this book (Whitney’s review in particular is fantastic), but I’m ready to give it a shot.

For Booktubeathon, I’ll be using this book for the challenge to read a hyped book, because Colleen Hoover definitely has a ton of hype surrounding her books.

Challenge 7: LGBTQIA+ 

ashAsh by Malinda Lo

I’ve been wanting to read this book for f o r e v e r. All I know is that it’s a lesbian retelling of Cinderella, which is enough to make me excited to read it.

Ash will also satisfy the Booktubeathon challenge to read a book with a person on the cover.

 

 

 

There’s my TBR for the Biannual Bibliothon and Booktubeathon! Hopefully I’ll be able to read and enjoy a lot of these books over the next week, and I’ll try to do a few of the BIBIB blog challenges as well.

Leave a Reply

